Halesworth Gallery, Steeple End, IP19 8LLMap No 10
The Gallery, run by a local non-profit making association, occupies the upper floor of this picturesque building known as the Steeple End Almshouses. For most of its 300-year life however this building was more generally known as Cary’s Almshouse, after its founder, William Cary, a Halesworth lawyer, whose body lies beneath a ledger stone at the west end of the nearby church. When he died in 1686, William was the owner of a raft of properties in Suffolk and London. In his will, he left £10 to the poor of Halesworth and directed that land be bought and a building erected as ‘a house for the poore, to conteyn twelve rooms besides garrets’. The Almshouse served the town for almost three centuries.
When new bungalows were built in the 1960s to succeed the now ageing and poorly equipped building, it was put to new use as the town’s branch of the County Library. One part was also used for a time as an office for the issue of animal movement licences. In 1985 the town’s first Museum opened here and remained here until it moved to the Railway Station in 2000.
The Gallery was founded in 1966. The objective is to exhibit modern painting and sculpture of the highest possible standard and for the general enjoyment of all. The Gallery will house a special display about the history of the building as well as an exhibition by local artists.
Saturday 21st – 10.00 to 16.00
Sunday 22nd – 10.00 to 16.00
Nearest Parking: Market Place Car Park
Access limited by steep stairs
PHOTO Steeple End Gable (Bill Jackson Foto)